Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-03-2011, 06:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
What would a pro charge for this?

I was asked to shoot some items (lockers/monograms/bath stalls etc....) in two different cities in the US. Both would involve flying. One would be a day trip and the other would probably be an overnighter. I've never done this before so I have no idea what to charge. The flights and expenses are paid for so what would YOUR quote be for time/shooting/post? Please include whether or not you do this for a living. I don't plan on charging what a pro would since I don't expect to get pro results. However, I can't alter my price if I don't have a starting point.
For example, I would have no idea if there is an hourly rate for sitting on an airplane. That's what I need help with.

Thanks for the help.
Kevin

08-03-2011, 07:10 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
the real answer is what do you think 2-3 days of your time plus expenses is worth (plus additional time for any post processing work,)
How the images will be used usually has some impact on cost as well.
Personally for me I would add $1500(allowing for 3 days including post work) plus the cost of all expenses (flight hotel, per diem for meals)
that gives a base that pays for your time (which has to also cover equipment costs)
I'm probably also pretty low on the price as It's not my primary job, just an add on (but remember it removes you from your primary work so you have to cover that loss plus take into account your fixed costs like equipment)
Depending on the Tog it could be a hell of a lot higher - I think the fashion guys daily rate can be hellishly high $10000 +++ if they are top names like Ben on here
So the real answer is what do you think your time is worth, start a little higher because it will give you room to come down a bit if need be.
08-03-2011, 07:10 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery