Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-17-2006, 06:26 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
What photomags to you currently enjoy?

...and why?

I'm big into Practical Photography these days. It's a UK-based rag, but the production quality, reviews and tips beat most North American mags hands down.

Sure, it takes forever to reach my local shop, and it costs about $14 CDN per issue, but they give excellent article son how to do loads of things. From techniques to Photoshop how-to's, including step by step instructions with screen shots, and downloadable images from their website to practice with.

Since I found this mag, I've got back into photography, bought my K10D and have learned how to better us Photoshop (since I've been self-taught to this point).

12-17-2006, 07:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
We talked about this a while ago and here https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/everything-else/180-photo-magazines.html

I agree that the UK mags IMO seem to have more content and a little less advertising. Sitting next to me as I type , all UK mags ( and usuallly a month behind as it takes longer to get here USA) Digital Camera, Digital Photographer, Practical Photography. And my one US Popular Photography.
12-17-2006, 03:07 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I normally read the UK Photography Monthly, of course here in Australia it is always at least 6 weeks late...
12-18-2006, 08:35 AM   #4
Forum Member

I like amateur photographer for their eccentric views on everything, and their monthly shooting meet up (four readers meet in London with Mike Maloney and take photos for 2 hours, then print their 3 favourites). Also the back page with whats-his-name is very good. Quite random usually.