Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-23-2011, 07:57 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So I now have a tripod. Now what?

This probably seems like a silly question, but having only had a "serious" camera now since July, I'm still learning what I can do and how I can do it. LBA has set in and I've got some fun manual glass, and now an ME Super (heh, LBA is the beginning, CBA is next?). I've taken probably a couple thousand shots by now and am really getting a good idea of angles, (natural) lighting, exposure, aperture, shutter speed, etc. Today is my birthday, and I received a Dolica 62 (by request ). So, now what. Yes, I understand the benefit of fixed positioning, prevention of vibration, etc. But what now? I don't have any macro stuff (other than A 50 F/2.8 1:2 lens) and a set of cheap magnification filters. Other than maybe giving it a go of taking Mom's christmas card photo this year, I don't have a lot of interest in portrature.

Anyway, any suggestions/advice on tripod use, particularly for when/what shots?

Thanks

11-23-2011, 08:07 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Long exposures: moving water, star trails, low light static subjects.

Multiple exposures: capturing a scene with a big dynamic range, or panning for a stitched pano.

Focus traps.

Self-portraits or group shots including yourself.

Birding or other telephoto work where camera shake is a problem.
11-23-2011, 09:04 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Use the flash hand-held during a long exposure to "paint" with light on buildings or something.
11-23-2011, 09:18 AM   #4

Tripods are great for blending two shots together. Expose for the sky in one and the foreground in another then blend them together, works great...try it at twilight.

11-23-2011, 09:23 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by baro-nite Quote
Long exposures: moving water, star trails, low light static subjects.