Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-18-2007, 07:29 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I want to buy a sport lense

Hi!
I really enjoyed taking pictures of my sons football team this year and am wondering if a different zoom lense would produce better shots. Any ideas on what lense would be right? Please use very simple terms for me I am just learning. Also my daughter plays fastball and I am looking forward to getting some pictures with my camera this year of her pitching and batting. She is also a volleyball player. I don't suppose there would be one wonder lense that would work for all 3 sports!!
Thanks for your help.

12-18-2007, 07:57 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by danahauk Quote
Hi!
I really enjoyed taking pictures of my sons football team this year and am wondering if a different zoom lense would produce better shots. Any ideas on what lense would be right? Please use very simple terms for me I am just learning. Also my daughter plays fastball and I am looking forward to getting some pictures with my camera this year of her pitching and batting. She is also a volleyball player. I don't suppose there would be one wonder lense that would work for all 3 sports!!
Thanks for your help.
What lens are you using now ?

Football on a good day (nice lighting) will be easier. As for length depends on how close you can get to the field. Personally I have found 300mm Sideline access has worked well for me and others. 500mm from the grandstands (Bigma) works great as well but all require sufficient lighting. Night games or overcast days make the Bigma challenging. The Biigma is a Sgma lens that ranges from 50mm - 500mm it is huge but can be hand held.