Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-04-2008, 10:40 PM   #1

Arizona Pentax workshops

I am wondering if anyone knows of any workshops in Arizona that are specific to the Pentax camera. I am fairly new to a SLR and have read many books, but I learn best "hands on"

Thanks for any help

01-04-2008, 11:21 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Jenn,
Your best bet is to talk to your local camera shop.

The one that I deal with has workshops from time to time, to help inspiring new photographers out.

If they don't they might know someone whom will give you a couple of lessons.
01-05-2008, 08:17 AM   #3

I don't think you'll have much luck. I used Google and didn't find much and what I did find were cruises and I think the photo workshop was a gimmick to increase bookings. If I were doing camera specific workshops, it certainly wouldn't be Pentax. I like my Pentax camera but in five years I've seen one tourist here with a Pentax DSLR.

Some other suggestions. It's been years since I was in a camera club but when I was I was a rank beginner and got lots of help from older photographers who were happy to share.

If you have a nice camera store with a bulletin board you can post a notice looking for other, hopefully more experienced, Pentax users. When I visit the U.S. I usually go to Salt Lake City and as of my last visit, 2006, there wasn't a photography store that carried Pentax DSLRs.

I took the CD with the manual to a Kinko's equivalent and for about $5 I had it printed 8.5x11 and bound. I could read it easily, mark it with highlighers, and found it much more useful than the little printed manual.
01-05-2008, 06:34 PM   #4

I would also be very interested in a users group or workshop in AZ (Phoenix area). There are several forum members in the Phoenix area. Maybe Mo or Ole would like to consider the possibilities. User groups are great for gaining and sharing knowledge about our preferred brand of camera.