Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-23-2012, 11:07 AM   #1

A couple questions

I'm a bit new to photography, and while I have made some pictures that i would consider to be fairly good, I still have a lot to learn. My first question has to do with color, how can I get some really vibrant colors? I have seen pictures taken on drab days that look amazing, but all I get is something that looks drab. The sharpness and detail of things such as the grain of wood on an old barn, how can I get these to be better? Is this a matter of technique, camera, glass, or a mix? I'm currently shooting with a canon 350D and tamron 28-300 f3.5

04-23-2012, 11:27 AM   #2

Photos: Albums
I think first you might need to use smaller aperture like 5.6 or 8 to see if the sharpness goes up. Second, you can set your camera's mode to vivid and increase your saturation level. Third make sure you can hold your camera steady. And after all that you'll need to find a better galss. I think Tamron 28-300 f3.5 may not be enough.

For canon lenses, my friends are mostly happy with Canon 24-105mm f4 L and the Canon 70-21mm f2.8 IS L. For lenses, you'd get it right the first time, otherwise you'll be spending whole lot of time to do LBA and try to decide which one to keep. I'd like to spend more time on taken pictures right at first time not spend my time on PS or lightroom with raw.

Happy shooting!
04-23-2012, 11:34 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery