Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2012, 10:35 AM   #1

Why does my shots look out of focus?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi guys,

Hope I am posting this in the right forum.
I am a beginner to photography and took my Kx with a Takumar 50mm 1.4 out for a spin the first time.
Now, I could see the shots sharp through the viewfinder and thought the photos would come out as I see them, ie sharp and very focused. Yes I did adjustments to the aperture and ISO settings etc. But most photos, except for a few, have come out blurry where I though the focus was clear. I am posting two photos to demonstrate and request help with what I am doing wrong and what to do about it.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 

Last edited by voyager13; 08-24-2012 at 08:59 PM.
05-02-2012, 10:57 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Were you shooting wide-open? I would try stopping down for a better DOF. If this behavior continues, your lens might be busted in some way or another.
05-02-2012, 11:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Use live view to focus. You can see stuff better on the LCD.
05-02-2012, 11:11 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

a few very important things to note when using a fast lens.

the apparent depth of field in the viewfinder is much much more than exists in reality, unless you have a manual focusing aid like a microprism ring or split image focusing screen.

Your shot appears to be very close, and while you have shake reduction to manage vertical horizontal and rotational motion, nothing can manage motion along the lens axis, if you moved in and out this could be part of the problem.