Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2008, 06:10 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Next Next Pentax. Now

If an image circle really is circle, then only a square would be the optimal shape of the sensor. A square covers the maximum area that you can cover inside of a circle with a rectangle because no other rectilinear shape can cover as much area inside of a circle as a square.

Can someone confirm this for me mathematically? I'm not really good at math.

....and this keyboard sucks so bad that my fingers hurts so im not explaining this anymore.

Last edited by MJB DIGITAL; 01-18-2008 at 08:24 PM. Reason: grammar: hmm i thought i was good at that....dang
01-18-2008, 07:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Original Poster
im also wondering if anyone knows where i can look at lens diagrams online.

thanks
01-18-2008, 07:53 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A circle would be optimal!

But since rectangular images usually are more pleasing to the eye than square or circular, that's what our cameras produce!
01-18-2008, 07:56 PM   #4
Ole
Administrator

QuoteOriginally posted by MJB DIGITAL Quote
im also wondering if anyone knows where i can look at lens diagrams online.

thanks
Bojidar's page has the optical diagrams of all Pentax lenses:

Welcome to Bojidar Dimitrov's Pentax K-Mount Page

01-18-2008, 08:32 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by MJB DIGITAL Quote
If an image circle really is circle, then only a square would be the optimal shape of the sensor. A square covers the maximum area that you can cover inside of a circle with a rectangle because no other rectilinear shape can cover as much area inside of a circle as a square.
A square is the largest -- here's the proof if you're interested: WikiAnswers - Find the dimensions of the rectangle of largest area ...