Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2012, 02:12 PM   #1

need help with low light, motion with *ist dl

I'm new to the DSLR world and new to Pentax. I bought a used *ist DL in April and have so far been very happy with it, once I figured out how to adjust it. I LOVE how it performs for pics of my daughter's swim meets and softball games, but now I'm moving on to a completely different area. I am gonig to do birth photography and was hoping to use the ist dl since it's what have. I do very much want to upgrade, perhaps to the k-30, but it's completely out of the budget right now. It'll take me probly a year or so so save the $900 needed. BUT I have a client in October whom I'm going to take birth pictures for so I need tips of how to get the best pics, low light, NO FLASH. I got a 55mm f/1.7 MF lens and that helped tremendously, but not enough. I also turned the ISO up to 3200, which also helped, but NOT enough. there will be motion, so I need a good speed so as not to get blur. does anybody have any tips for using this camera in VERY low light settings with no flash? and how much could I compensate in photoshop - which I still barely know how to use, but I'm learning that as well. I only shoot in manual, as I feel that's the whole point is being able to take the picture that I want, not what the camera thinks.

08-02-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think you already have a good grasp of the concepts. Photography is a world of compromise, everything is tied together, aperture, ISO, shutter speed and extra light are the only things you can change.

You got a very fast lens (f/1.7) and you increased the ISO to 3200 which I think is pushing the limit on that camera. Except for either flash or video lights, nothing else you can do with that camera.