Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2008, 10:47 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Recommendations on use of 50mm Macros

Hi all,

I recently sold a number of 50mm Macros on this forum, so I thought it might be nice to share some experience I have gathered (although I am by no means an expert) on their use.

I know many people prefer 100mm Macros, but I hope this thread will not turn into a debate about what is best, rather, I would like to gather everyone's advice on what is the best technique for using a shorter macro.

1. For really good clear shots, a tripod is a must. It is extremely difficult to handhold a shot from a 50mm macro at 1:1 due to the short distance in order to keep focus and the extremely shallow depth of view.

2. If you are doing handheld shots, good lighting is critical. A macro with an "A" aperature setting will help a great deal because it will allow you to easily use a flash. While it will do in a pinch, the built-in flash is not ideal, first because the close firing distance often will create a harsh shadow and 2nd because some lenses will obstruct the flash because you have to be so close to your target. Ideally, use a tripod in a well lit spot and just take long exposures. A ringflash or ringlight would be great if you can get your hands on one. Of course, our Pentax's P-TTL makes those all the more difficult to obtain.

3. I find that while everyone loves the "fast" lens, in macro work, a high aperature is much more critical because it increases your depth of field. I usually work somewhere between f11-f22. Sometimes even smaller aperatures are better (unless you are going for some specific blurring effect in your photo).