Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-18-2008, 01:12 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Band. Club photo shoot advice.

My friends friend Jason Ricci & New Blood is going to be in town and he is hoping I can take some photos of them at the bar/club they will playing at this coming Thursday night.

I'm kinda new to photography and am hoping someone can give me suggestions as far as settings to use on my K10D as far as shutter speed, aperature and ISO. I was hoping to be able to use just the FA 31mm lens so I'm not lugging around a bunch of equipment.

I'm not sure about what type of lighting they have so I know I'm probably not helping too much in that aspect but the one thing I would like to avoid is using the flash if I can.

Thank you....

02-18-2008, 01:32 PM   #2
m8o
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not necessarily "how-to" but ideas of what to go for/mimic by a member with mad skillz here:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/4959-first-try-band-photo-shoot.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/9002-few-live-band-shots.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/10595-few-b-w-action-portraits.html

This is the "how-to" he went by for the slow-curtain sync in the live shots:
Concert Photography, A Tutorial for photo.net by Steve Mirarchi
02-18-2008, 02:31 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
I've found that I like longer focal lengths for live music. I've used my DA70 the most, followed by a Super Takumar 50/1.4. I recently bought a Super Takumar 105/2.8 that I'm itching to use.

I usually shoot ISO 1600 to maximize my shutter speed, ensuring to not underexpose.

The Weakerthans:

Do Make Say Think:
02-18-2008, 02:41 PM   #4

Hey Sprags..