Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2013, 11:20 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Improving my photos - Exposure question

I have submitted a couple photos to the recent PEG photo approval system, and I have really appreciated the feedback I've received. I've also commented on a bunch of photos too. One of the first things I'm realizing (again) is just how hard it is to get a really fantastic photograph...

Composition and lighting are things I'm still learning and working on, but in both the photos I submitted, comments indicated that they were underexposed. Now on my monitor, they look just how I want them to look, but when I check out their histograms, I can see that they are on the dark side. In fact, just about all the pics taken w/ my K-x and my 18-135 under normal, daylight settings are on the dark side. This means that I'm 'shooting to the left,' and I know that I should be trying to 'shoot to the right.' I've tended to use the Center-weighted metering, but I'm going to try the Multi-segmented and see how that works. I seem to have more issues with blown out highlights, so I've not really been worried much about underexposure. I suppose that after I take a pic, I should review it and inspect my histograms...

Question 1: What is your recommended metering option?

Question 2: Do you recommend turning on the highlight and/or shadow correction options?

So, now I have a photo, and I'm doing a little pp to dress it up. I realize that monitors can vary widely in their accuracy. (And if I was a pro, I'd need to buy a better monitor and get it properly calibrated.) I also know that sometimes I actually want a darker or lighter picture to capture a mood.

Question 3: If I'm just trying to get a well-lighted image, should I simply trust the histogram instead of my monitor?