Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2013, 01:28 AM   #1

Should I give up on my Samsung GX-10 DSLR?

As my handle implies, I'm new to the DSLR world and I don't know a great deal about photography in the first place. However, I have pretty reasonable goals, all I want to do is shoot some nice pictures of my adorable 4 year old before he grows up and be able to take a decent photo when the opportunity arises. But I'm really frustrated because I only have a few "good ones" in the 18 months I've had my DSLR. And I'm not looking for professional level complex shots, I'd just like my shots to be in focus and have the right color.

Here's a rundown of my gear:

Samsung GX-10
Schneider 18-55mm D-XENON lens
Phoenix 28-210mm f4.2-6.5 lens

I feel like I've done my homework, but I still am not getting a lot of usable shots. I've probably taken around 1500 shots with the camera. I've read the Digital Photography book by Scott Kelby. I've read the 300 page manual twice.

I've had better luck shooting outdoors when the sun is out, which is rare where I live. But I feel like its impossible to get a sharp, well-lit image indoors. When I do use the flash indoors it seems to make everything too bright. The other problem is that even in situations where there seems to be enough light, a little movement makes for a blurry picture. See the first one below as an example. That was shot with an ISO of 1600. It's kinda hard to tell on a smaller file, but Grandma is in focus and my son isn't. They are the same distance away, so its not a focal length issue.