Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-29-2008, 07:23 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Camera Equipment and Airport Security

Although I'm a rookie, would apprciate some advice on the best ways, precatuions, etc to carry my equipment through modern day airport security systems.

My specific questions would include:
- What is OK to hand carry and what is not? (can you carry batteries and spares through security in carry on bags?
- What is the best way to pack your body and lenses? leave a lens attached or keep the body separte from each lens?
- Will security make you take the camera out of the bag like they do laptop computers?
- Since you cannot effectively lock your checked baggage anymore, is there anything that you should put in that bag?

Thanks in advance for your tips. I want to be able to take my stuff with me, but know that airports can be a major hassle and I don't want other people handling my equipment.

02-29-2008, 07:50 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by nonnstop Quote
Although I'm a rookie, would apprciate some advice on the best ways, precatuions, etc to carry my equipment through modern day airport security systems.

My specific questions would include:
- What is OK to hand carry and what is not? (can you carry batteries and spares through security in carry on bags?
it is ok to hand carry batteries etc, but if you check your bags, batteries cannot be "loose" and must be contained, packaged etc.
QuoteQuote:
- What is the best way to pack your body and lenses? leave a lens attached or keep the body separte from each lens?
there is no difference, as long as you use the rear caps and body caps
QuoteQuote:
- Will security make you take the camera out of the bag like they do laptop computers?