Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2008, 02:31 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How to get detail?

After reading through this forum it seems I have been doing something wrong. When I want full detail in an image I usally set the f stop to its highest setting(f/22) to get the most depth of field. Normally this works just fine, but is this the correct way to get full detail.

Sorry if this a stupid question but I'm self taught and this is the way I have been doing it for the past year.

Thanks for any help!

03-06-2008, 02:37 PM   #2
Veteran Member

small aperture (high f number) will result in more things IN focus.

larger aperture (smaller f number) will result in less things in focus before and after what you are focusing on, this is called depth of field.

being IN FOCUS and SHARP are not one and the same.

each lens usualy has a sweet spot at a specific aperture size where it will give the SHARPEST result of everything that is in focus.

usualy for lenses on the wider side this is between 4 and 5, for telephoto lenses this is usualy around 8-12

at f22 you are losing sharpness, but you are gaining focus of everything in your frame.
03-06-2008, 02:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for clearing that up for me, I was wondering why in automatic mode it was using a aperture of 11. I thought that in order to get a crisp shot you needed to use the smallest aperture the lens had.
03-06-2008, 02:53 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery