Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-06-2013, 12:27 AM   #1
Forum Member

Advise - What lenses are good to shoot these beautiful birds...and portraits as well.

Hi! I recently got a K30 and have got 18-55WR and 50-200WR kit with it. Off late been trying to take some good photographs of humming birds!! I know its not an easy subject and add to that I am an amateur photographer. No previous DSLR experience. I do read articles here and there and try to learn basics, buts not up there. I've been shooting humming birds in neighbourhood but not very happy with my shots. I am not sure if kit lens are enough for it.

Would be great if you guys could suggest me some good lens not bomb expensive ones. Old would also be fine. That can help me take very good portrait photographs and humming birds!!!

Attaching a few sample shots I took with K30, for reference. These are taken in dark shaded patio, and have been post processed in Adobe Lightroom. Shutter speed was 1/1000 and ISO 400-800. Lens 50-200 WR at 200mm.

Sam

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
05-06-2013, 01:15 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would say you're doing pretty darn well.
Anything much better will cost you a bomb.
05-06-2013, 01:43 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Judging by jour pics you don't need anything more right now .
05-06-2013, 02:18 AM   #4
PJ1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Nothing wrong with those shots. You could give me a lesson!

05-06-2013, 03:42 AM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Very nice shots!