Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-09-2008, 01:15 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Advice on Upcoming Event

Hi All,

There is an upcoming Renewing of Vows that a couple is having at a church. I have been asked to volunteer (which is fine by me, I'm no pro) to do the photos. It's not what would be called a formal wedding, it's going to take place during the regular Sunday service.

I have the 2 lenses in my sig and that is it. However, I have convinced the better half that I need a flash, I'm thinking the Pentax 360 due to budget and post-usage. Also, I'm not going to want to switch lenses so which one would you use?

Any other suggestions would be great in terms of tips/tricks TIA

03-09-2008, 01:23 PM   #2
Inactive Account

The only thing that really sticks out about the 360 is lack of swivel. I have the Sigma Ef-500 DG Super and find the swivel absolutely essential when shooting portrait orientation. Without it, you can only bounce in landscape (unless using wireless). I suppose trying to bounce in a church would be out of the question anyway.

If you're allowed to get close then I would go with the 50/1.4, especially if you're not even allowed to use flash. If you're shooting from the nose-bleeds then the 18-250 is the only way to go.

- Andrew
03-09-2008, 01:51 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I was thinking about the 360's lack of swivel too (so much for the 360 name . Money is a factor so i don't know if I can justify another $200 for the 540.

I can get as close as I want, within reason of course. I have shot there before with just the 50mm with no flash, 20 of 65 photos were good, maybe 3 were 8x10 worthy. From the balcony I can get about 3/4 of the stage area.
03-09-2008, 04:28 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think there are reasons to use the 50mm, specifically for some natural light shots, just set the WB for tungsten,