Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-14-2013, 02:24 PM   #1
Forum Member

Is the image processor in Pentax K-r is good enough?

I have a Pentax K-r and I am new to DSLR.

What I found was in order to get good picture quality, most of the time I need to use PS auto-color or auto-brightness to correct my pictures. Is this normal?

If it is normal, then why not Pentax put those Auto-color/brightness correction into the camera? Is it to save cost so that they don't need to put a fancy image processor. This lead to my next question, does that mean if I use mid-range or high end DSLR, I don't need to use PS that often because their image processors are better?

In my situation, is RAW and the PP into JPEG a better way if I want nice quality pictures?

05-14-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The camera has adjustments for you to change the way the camera processes the image, to make it more or less contrasty, saturated, etc.

RAW processing software usually has more flexibility and options available, and does not need to be complicated.
05-14-2013, 03:35 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Summer:Lake Superior - Michigan Winter:Texas Hill Country
QuoteOriginally posted by dmnf Quote
I have a Pentax K-r and I am new to DSLR.

What I found was in order to get good picture quality, most of the time I need to use PS auto-color or auto-brightness to correct my pictures. Is this normal?

If it is normal, then why not Pentax put those Auto-color/brightness correction into the camera? Is it to save cost so that they don't need to put a fancy image processor. This lead to my next question, does that mean if I use mid-range or high end DSLR, I don't need to use PS that often because their image processors are better?

In my situation, is RAW and the PP into JPEG a better way if I want nice quality pictures?