Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2013, 09:15 PM   #1

Shooting in desert

Hi,
I am going to shoot in desert. I do lot of research on technique and needs, but I feel I am not really ready. Its my first time in desert ever (not just with camera). I did not find lot of resources, so I would be happy of some of you more experienced could share some knowledge. Very appreciative.

My equipment is:
K5; MX
FA 20-35
F35-70
M135 f 3,5
M 50 f1,7
2x Circullar polarisers Hoya pro, basic cleaning equipment.
I have some plastic bags - still missing zip log bags
tripod

Here is what I found
Your Guide to Stunning Desert Photography
Preparing for Desert Photography Travel | DIYPhotography.net
How to Photograph Deserts

Unfortunatelly, I have no filters - aka big stopper or fader NDs. Are there any tricks how to get around?

06-25-2013, 09:36 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shoot from first light until maybe 9am then from maybe 5pm to dark.
Carry lots of water
Leave the desert as you find it
If you must shoot in the middle of the day a diffuser will help for small things such as cactus or flowers
Map compass food matches survival gear first aid kit
The sharp spiny stuff hurts if you fall into it
06-25-2013, 11:35 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
Shoot from first light until maybe 9am then from maybe 5pm to dark.
Good general advice, but you might want to check a weather website to see what time the sun goes down in the area you will be shooting. I live in the Mojave desert and the sun doesn't drop below the horizon until around 8:15pm during the summer. The light is still very bright and white at 5pm here.
06-25-2013, 11:48 PM - 1 Like   #4
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Based on my experience

Concerning photo gear: