Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-29-2013, 02:12 PM   #16
Pentaxian

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Safety can't be overemphasized. I've been shooting lightning for 19 years now and was careful about being too close. However, while waiting for a storm to approach from a mountain range 12 miles away, I was sitting on the side of a hill and saw no lightning. I was thinking that this storm was not going to produce any. Then, BOOM, the first strike of the storm hit very close to me. I got a lesson in lightning safety. Most of my lightning shots are now taken from the upper story of my house.

07-07-2013, 11:05 AM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I have built 2 of these so far. One for a present and one for me. Works great during the day when you cant leave the trigger open long. But night is still best with bulb mode. Link

I built a wired one. Not the IR trigger one.

Last edited by frooggy; 07-07-2013 at 11:19 AM.
07-07-2013, 06:50 PM   #18
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
I don't know that you need triggers, do you? Just using a 10 to 20 second exposure, f8, iso 400 seems to work pretty well.

I keep coming back to this shot. It really hits something deep with me. The lightning looks so much like the roots of a tree. Fantastic shot.
07-07-2013, 08:09 PM   #19
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Time + Patience

Hello lesmore49,
I agree with Rondec, what you need are good techniques, time and patience.