Pentaxian

Why DoF is only a target value for the knowledge-free

[deleted]

Last edited by beholder3; 08-11-2013 at 06:42 AM. Reason: [deleted]
07-06-2013, 04:04 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What you have tried to explain here, really , is that the longer the lens for a given background spacing, due to the combinination of depth of field, and the relative magnification of the background to subject that the out of focus blobs are bigger, and more pleasing with the long lens, than for an equally blurry background, but shot with a shorter lens, which results in a "confusing" background of dots.

I have been stressing this point for several years now. It really does come down to setup and not lenses. Tat is why the entire FF argument is so flawed People assume they will get better results with full frame without wanting to understand that there is actually science behind the images and itis just as possible to create the images with APS-C as FF
07-06-2013, 04:16 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
I think most photographers also take perspective into account, and with very long focal length the portrait might be too flat for their taste.
But I don't think that 135/2.8 lenses was popular by chance in the manual focus film days. They where cheap and gave enough DOF for portrait, but still with quite good background isolation.
07-06-2013, 04:25 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Fogel70 Quote
I think most photographers also take perspective into account, and with very long focal length the portrait might be too flat for their taste.
But I don't think that 135/2.8 lenses was popular by chance in the manual focus film days. They where cheap and gave enough DOF for portrait, but still with quite good background isolation.
Actually my favorite is a 200/3.5 preset for 1/2 body shots if you have enough space

07-06-2013, 06:44 AM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery