Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2008, 04:40 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Can fill flash really be this simple?

In 3 months, I will be taking photos at a god-daughter's wedding. I've suggested to her that I just be the "back up" photographer since I haven't seriously shot at a wedding in many years and actually am just getting back into serious photography after a point and shoot period. She insists that I be the primary photographer since she doesn't want "some stranger" doing it. So, the pressure is on me to get back up to speed quickly.
The wedding will be outdoors, on a gulf coast beach that I've never been to. The only thing I keep imagining is that strong sun shining down creating all those wonderful shadows. A wonderful creative photography situation, but as a wedding photographer I keep thinking racoon eyes, nose shadows, extreme contrast situations. So now I have to get good at fill flash quickly.
The equipment that I have and will be using is: K10D, Sigma 17-70 (unless a DA`50-135 appears in my bag some how to supplement it), Pentax 360FGZ, Stroboframe Fip Bracket (Stroboframe | Quick Flip 350 Bracket | 310-635 | B&H Photo Video) (holds the flash further above the lens and flips for portrait position) with a 5P sync cord connecting the flash to the hot shoe, and a Lumiquest soft box (LumiQuest | SoftBox for Shoe-Mount Flashes | LQ-107 | B&H Photo) (5"X7", flash mounted). The soft box is supposed to cut the flash by about 1 - 1 1/2 stops.
Today, I put this whole kit together and tried some flash shots just to check functionality, light softness (never had the soft box on the 360 before), and exposures. I left the K10D in P mode, the flash in P-TTL and tried some interior shots. The shots I took are nowhere near the exposure extremes that I will experience at the wedding, but they looked OK.