Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2008, 07:48 AM   #1

UK - Photographer's ID

I'm sure various people here are aware of the current reporting of photographers increasingly being challenged etc on 'security' grounds. E.g.
BBC: Innocent Photographer or Terrorist

As a student of architecture, taking photos of often random parts of towns etc, I've had a few strange looks and questions asked myself.

So I was wondering. Does anyone here belong to any photographic societies - ones that issues membership cards, something vaguely useful to prove "I'm a serious photographer" (even if really proving no more than that) upon being challenged.

Am just considering whether, for the sake of an annual membership charge, this might be a worthwhile thing to have/do.

Thoughts appreciated.

04-20-2008, 08:29 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Some Americans (a minority, probably) are also acting that way. If you search a little bit, you will find the threads.
04-20-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Petition to: clarify the laws surrounding photography in public places.

you may want to subscribe to the petition, frankly I find the situation stupid law enforcement is making a fool of itself showing itself up as plain ignorant and stupid, if I'm a terrorist I'm not going to run around in plain view with a big camera with the prowess the police are showing I wonder how well protected we really are they seem so incompetent just wasting their time, I'd like to know how many bad people were successfully caught with a DSLR in their hands. apart from many people being stopped when they have every right to take pictures it seems the police are more ignorant than us.

I'd say to them GROW UP and to get educated the real terrorists must be laughing their asses off at our forces incompetence in being if anything rational and fair and know their job
04-20-2008, 11:10 AM   #4
MrA

Original Poster