Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-06-2014, 07:10 PM   #1

optimizing macro focus

I'm attempting to shoot some dead insects. My current setup is a K-5 with a Sigma 50mm 2.8 EX DG. I'm fairly new to macro photography and wondering if anyone has any tips for optimizing the focus. I've tried shooting through most of the aperture, getting the best results around f/8. I've tried spot focusing, 5-point, 11-point, and manual focus. I've also taken some shots with a Sigma DP3 Merrill that I rented. The focus on the Merrill under the same shooting conditions seems much more precise and I'm wondering if there is anything I might be able to do to bring the performance of the K-5 closer to the Merrill. I've attached an cropped RAW sample from each of the cameras.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
SIGMA DP3 Merrill  Photo 
10-06-2014, 07:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
You can adjust the focus in the K5 ( internal focus adjustment )
Im sure there is a guide somewhere ..

I have found digital can be soft , especially compared to 35mm , finding the right combination that is SHARP ( Camera + Lens ) , priceless .
A lot of lenses that made their reputations with 35mm , are maybe a little on the soft side with digital .

For the K5 , try a split screen ( Just like with the pre autofocus 35mm cameras ) , these were usually spot on ..
I still need to install a split screen in my K10D ( Im so lazy )
10-06-2014, 07:27 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Manual focus + live view magnification is the best way to focus macros IMO. Also, at high magnifications make sure your setup is stable so that camera shake doesn't introduce blur. At very high magnifications you will also need to stack focus to get DOF.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)