Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-27-2014, 07:14 AM   #1
Forum Member

How do I take a photo like this?

I was looking to shoot something like this for a website background pic and was hoping I could get some advice. I'm a videographer so stills are not my strong point, so any help would be appreciated. I'm shooting on a Panasonic GH4 and my available lenses are a 25mm f1.4 (true 50mm), 12-35 f2.8 (25-70) and a 35-100 f2.8 (70-200).

Cheers!

Last edited by watchingskyfallatm; 11-27-2014 at 08:28 AM.
11-27-2014, 07:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Find or set up a series of small lights (Christmas lights would be good). Select a lens, most likely a prime. Focus in very near to make the lights out of focus, causing them to all be in the bokeh. This lens had a six blade aperture, and looks like they were rounded blades, but I'm still a noob myself, so don't hold me to that.

For bokeh purposes, I'd use that 25mm you have. And the number of aperture blades really doesn't matter, just controls the number of sides the polygon shapes will have.

Also forgot to mention, shoot it wide open, otherwise you'll get starbursts at tighter apertures.
11-27-2014, 07:32 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by willskywalker93 Quote
Find or set up a series of small lights (Christmas lights would be good). Select a lens, most likely a prime. Focus in very near to make the lights out of focus, causing them to all be in the bokeh. This lens had a six blade aperture, and looks like they were rounded blades, but I'm still a noob myself, so don't hold me to that.

For bokeh purposes, I'd use that 25mm you have. And the number of aperture blades really doesn't matter, just controls the number of sides the polygon shapes will have.

Also forgot to mention, shoot it wide open, otherwise you'll get starbursts at tighter apertures.