Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2015, 09:42 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Tips on using flash?

I've noticed that whenever I use the built in flash, my subject ends up looking very pale and unnatural. I assume this is because I'm either too close or my white balance is off. I never had this problem with my point and shoot but I'm trying to get better at photography and it seems my DSLR is very different when it comes to flash. Should I diffuse the light somehow? I'm just a beginner so I would appreciate any tips!

02-24-2015, 09:50 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Zephos Quote
I've noticed that whenever I use the built in flash, my subject ends up looking very pale and unnatural. I assume this is because I'm either too close or my white balance is off. I never had this problem with my point and shoot but I'm trying to get better at photography and it seems my DSLR is very different when it comes to flash. Should I diffuse the light somehow? I'm just a beginner so I would appreciate any tips!
First tip - set flash exposure compensation (not regular exposure compensation) to -1.3 or -1.5 or even -1.7. This will take the overexposed washouts down a notch.

On my K-50 I do this by using the 4 way controller, going to the flash mode by pressing left, then pressing down on the 4 way which highlights the flash exposure compensation, then I press left and right on the 4 way to get the value for compensation needed and finally I press OK to save that setting. If that fails then I end up in Manual mode tinkering. Sometimes I also use regular exposure compensation combined with flash compensation also.
02-24-2015, 09:51 AM   #3
Veteran Member

For DSLRs I strongly recommend to get an external flash.

However, if you do not want to do that, for whatever reasons, here are some nice tips on how to use the built-in flash on your camera:

Part 1