Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
03-13-2015, 01:14 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Taking photos of dancers in a club

Hello all

Hope this is the right forum on PF. Any advice on this would be gratefully received.

A friend of mine runs a soul music night in a Workingmen's club here in the UK. I'm a keen amateur photographer, but very much still learning.

I took my camera to the first couple he did and shot loads of photos. The response to them has been really good and I've almost become the "official" photographer! People I don't know have complimented them online.

I'm keen to improve my shots further-I think I have a decent eye for interestiing "moments" , but struggle with a few things.

I'm using the built-in flash on my K-R. I know a separate flash is better, but it actually gives better results than I expected. I understand aperture/SS/ISO, but I don't really get how flash impacts on those. I shoot in aperture priority mostly. I tend to shoot wide-open, but now I'm using a flash, I guess I have more flexibility - I do occasionally have focus point issues from the narrow DoF. Are higher d-stops an option?

I also don't really understand the impact of flash on shutter speed. I've generally found flash freezes the dancing. When I have experimented with shutter speed, I've found that varying it seems to have little impact - I tried to introduce a little blur at times.

Since using flash, I've kept the ISO low,but some online guides seem to say using higher ISO, particularly to introduce more background light - I don't get this.

Finally, my biggest issue is focusing. It's quite light by the standards of clubs and my sight is good, but I struggle to manually focus through the viewfinder. Is there a way around this? I'm guessing bigger f-stops will make it less critical, if it is possible to use them.