Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
04-13-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Trying to capture milky way. Stop down vs high ISO?

Hello all,

This coming weekend I will be trying, for the first time, to capture milky way. I am planning to use Rokinon 14mm f2.8 with my K-3.

What is better when shooting milky way? Keep the aperture at f2.8 and use lower ISO or stop down (for sharpness) and use high ISO? Rokinon 14mm is relatively soft at f 2.8, but would it matter when shooting far away stars? What is a better compromise to make? Any input is highly appreciated.

Thanks.

04-13-2015, 01:21 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
I would stop down and use high iso, but I am no expert...I've read some article about the matter where they recommended this, but I can't find it now..
04-13-2015, 01:21 PM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by uday029 Quote
Hello all,

This coming weekend I will be trying, for the first time, to capture milky way. I am planning to use Rokinon 14mm f2.8 with my K-3.

What is better when shooting milky way? Keep the aperture at f2.8 and use lower ISO or stop down (for sharpness) and use high ISO? Rokinon 14mm is relatively soft at f 2.8, but would it matter when shooting far away stars? What is a better compromise to make? Any input is highly appreciated.

Thanks.
Generally speaking you want to use the fastest aperture possible so that the lens can gather as much light as possible. If the lens is soft at F2.8 though, use F3.5 or F4. Also, you will probably need to stack images, so IMO shooting multiple files at a low ISO is the way to go. There probably won't be enough light for you to use ISO 100, so you'll most likely be working in the 200-800 range.

My best star photos have all been either wide-open or close to wide-open.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)