Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2015, 12:41 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First Photo Stacked Macro

With my new Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 lens, and a new, workable, rail I've had the chance to try some stacking shots. This is my first try, tabletop, indoor and flash lit.

It's not as good as it could have been, mainly due to the fact my rail hit the table before I'd got all the shots Full details can be had by clicking the image, link to Flickr.

Any comments, hints, tips and offers of payment always appreciated.

Last edited by Ray Hines; 06-07-2015 at 08:03 AM.
06-06-2015, 12:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Ray Hines Quote
With my new Tamron f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 lens, and a new, workable, rail I've had the chance to try some stacking shots. This is my first try, tabletop, indoor and flash lit.

It's not as good as it could have been, mainly due to the fact my rail hit the table before I'd got all the shots Full details can be had by clicking the image, link to Flickr.

Any comments, hints, tips and offers of payment always appreciated.

I'm going to show my complete ignorance about this subject and ask: What is the object of "image stacking"? When I look at the accompanying image, I don't see anything of any particular significance. Is there something I should be looking for?
06-06-2015, 01:12 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi Dewman, it's a lot to do with DoF mate. Here's a link to help you out, he can explain it better than I can. An Introduction to Focus Stacking - Digital Photography School

It's also very popular for star trail photography.

Ray
06-06-2015, 03:21 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Dewman Quote
When I look at the accompanying image, I don't see anything of any particular significance.
QuoteOriginally posted by Ray Hines Quote
Hi Dewman, it's a lot to do with DoF mate.