Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-17-2015, 05:29 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
When Things Go Wrong

Well, I have been a decent photographer since age 10. Coming from a family of photographers with the best equipment one can afford, things often go wrong with my photography.
I have read some of the best books on photography by the masters, some of these being practical work books. Have gone on numerous photo walks. Have taken free photo seminars for beginners.
So yesterday was my sons 39th birthday and we had a celebration out on hot and sunny Toronto. The beach umbrella was red in color, so I had a hard time with the white balance - turned our faces into red lobsters. The bright & sunny background under exposed the photos below the huge umbrella.
The patio was wooden decked and the camera on the tripod would vibrate each time someone moved, so I had to keep a high shutter speed. This shot up the ISO in TAv mode - and required some noise correction in PP.
To make matters worse, folks moving about the huge round table would get cut out from the pre-composed frame - remember I was shooting with the camera on a tripod with the Pentax remote. One can't recompose in such situations, so many good shots were lost
With all the sunshine around, it never occurred to me to bring the flash gun with me. And the camera's in built flash would cast a huge shadow due to the lens hood.

Required tedious work in Lightroom to get an appreciation for my effort.
And finally one of the guests said, what is that thing in your hand pointing at the camera in almost all the frames?? I wish I had one of those radio remotes in place of the IR stuff.

Hey Friends, with all my hard learned experience, things always seem to go wrong.
Help!! What would you do??
Regards.

08-17-2015, 05:52 PM   #2
Pentaxian