Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-21-2015, 06:35 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Using a prime lens in a nightclub

Hi all

I take photos at a soul music night my friends run (I'm not pro - I do it pretty much for free).

As a relative beginner, I've been pleased with the photos I've been getting. However, I'd like to get better!

I've been using my K-r with the 18-55 kit lens and using the built-in flash. I appreciate this is far from ideal for this type of photography, but I've had to work with what I've got.

I've been considering trying a prime lens, mainly for the improved sharpness and low light capability. The flash has produced much better results than I expected, but it'd be great to do without it.

I wondered about getting something like a 50mm f1.8 lens. I'm quite prepared to be more creative about moving around etc. Incidentally, I don't zoom in much, and I suspect I shoot wider than 50mm usually (away from laptop right now, so can't check)!

What worries me is focusing with a very wide aperture like f1.8. I get how it helps in low light, but surely it must be hard to get subjects in focus given the DoF will be so narrow. The light is low at these events, so the K-r won't auto-focus and manual focusing is tough as it is at narrower apertures.

I guess at 50mm, I may be further away from the subject, so that might help somewhat.

Also, I often have dancers behind the subject in focus in these shots. Presumably they wouldn't be in focus at the widest apertures with the prime.

Hope that makes some sense. If anyone has any suggestions or advice, I'd be most grateful.

Thanks

Si

09-21-2015, 06:42 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Maybe it would make more sense investing a a flash that you can bounce (provided it is ok with the groups).
Also you should play with the ISO, although I am not sure if the Kr is too forgiving in that respect.
09-21-2015, 07:03 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member