Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2008, 04:24 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I did not read this in any of the posts so I have to ask.... Did they ask the photog they hired if it was ok with them for you to also shoot at their wedding? If they have not this could cause a big problem the day of. Good idea to ask them this question and for you to talk with the hired photog before the day as well.

06-25-2008, 05:17 AM   #17
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by metalfab Quote
Wow, thanks again for the replies.

Let me explain myself a bit more. The upcoming wedding that I'm volunteering at is some friends from the church. They already have hired a pro and no, they will not be letting him go just because I said I'll do photos for free. It's a win win because they will get some good photos from me and it will help build my portfolio a bit more.

Time is money, I'm a metal fabricator / welder and know it all too well. Photography is a very part time job right now. I'm just like sluggo913, eventually, if it comes close to what I make now then I'll quit my day job. It might be a year, 3 years, 5 years, maybe never, I'm going to give go either way.
Good for you! Good luck and let us know how the shoot goes. I agree with the point that was made that you should probably clear your presence with the other photographer. It doesn't help to make enemies in the industry. But IMHO, he/she has no reason to get upset....they are getting paid to do it....you aren't. They are getting what their contract says they should get as long as they do their part. I heard of someone one time who hired three professional photographers for their wedding. They apparantly all had different styles and the wedding party wanted to "make sure" they got exactly what they wanted. A bit expensive for my taste but they all got paid! And to top it off, I think the couple is now divorced!
06-25-2008, 11:49 AM   #18
Inactive Account