Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-19-2015, 07:37 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Architecture?

Hey there folks,

I'm planning a personal project involving shooting pictures churches in my area. I bought the HD DA 15mm a few days ago & I'm really digging it. I'm wondering if some experiences on shooting buildings & their interiors without a tilt/shift lens can be shared. The only tilt/shift within reason (for me & my budget at the moment) is the Rokinon 24mm but I haven't heard much about the lens in this application. Also, I've never used a tilt/shift lens before so while I understand in theory what they can do, I don't know what the actual effect on the image and on my shooting in the field will be. I know what I don't want as my final image: https://flic.kr/p/Ar3gZU, https://flic.kr/p/B1x2X6. I'm hoping to maneuver enough to capture images closer to: https://flic.kr/p/w1AxrR, https://flic.kr/p/yedQec, or https://flic.kr/p/xhkvfV. I know the last two are interior shots but I haven't had much luck in getting many perpendicular/straight on shots of building exteriors. I'm not sure if I'm making much sense here.

Is getting a shot with minimal distortion a matter of finding the right distance & holding the camera sensor at the right altitude while perpendicular? All and any comments are welcome & if I'm getting anything wrong here please feel free to correct me, I'm still green & appreciate the feedback.

12-19-2015, 08:02 PM   #2
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I use photoshop: layer/duplicte layer/edit/transform/and usually perspective (or skew) and for non-professional applications (i.e., there is some loss of resolution versus a true shift lens) this should be fine. This is in CS2 (and seems identical to CS6) and CS2 apparently is available for no cost now. Cannot comment on other software and their PC ability.