Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-16-2016, 01:16 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Anyone know how to disassemble a Sunpak DX-12r ring flash?

Hi,

I went to use my ring flash today (I haven't in quite awhile) and it just wouldn't turn on. A couple of times I thought I heard a tiny "pop" when I turned it on. Brand new batteries installed. I suspect that the cap may need to be replaced. I have some experience with fixing electronics, but for the life of me, I can't figure out how to get this thing apart, and don't want to break it. There was no service manual, or schematics on the internet that I could find after scouring for quite a while.

If anyone has ever cracked one of these open, please help me!

Thanks,

George

01-18-2016, 01:39 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Remove hotshoe adaptor, then remove 4 screws as in pic below, lift out the cover plate then loosely refit the 2 screws of the back moulding, this will prevent 2 plates falling out when you eventually get it apart.

Remove 3 screws in top moulding as shown in next 2 pics

The top moulding is now held on with 2 plastic clips which are part of the moulding, if you try to lever the top off then you have a very good chance of breaking them.
The easiest way is to carefully drill 2 small holes (about 1.5 mm) in the casing, making sure that you only go through the casing and do not drill the plastic clip inside,
you can then insert a small screwdriver and carefully push on the clip while you prise the top off, it helps if you've got 3 hands !

Position of holes in pics below:

Once the top is open then you will find another 4 screws which again fix into 2 plates so follow the same practice as you carried out on the base.
After that the bottom section will come apart.

DO NOT ASSUME THE MAIN CAPACITOR IS DISCHARGED JUST BECAUSE THE FLASH ISN'T FIRING, DISCHARGE IT CAREFULLY, IT CAN GIVE YOU A VERY NASTY & POSSIBLY LETHAL SHOCK.