Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-06-2016, 03:41 AM   #1
Forum Member

Noise Reduction settings

Hi, I'd be grateful for help with this using my Pentax K-S2. My photography is probably split between moving objects (animals/birds/sports) and landscape/architecture. I have my user setting U1 set up for Landscapes and U2 settings for sport. I shoot in JPG for the moment whilst still getting used to this camera.

The camera has settings for Hi ISO NR and low shutter speed NR. What settings should I use in general and for my U1, U2 settings? And why please. Assume (correctly) that I have limited knowledge about this.

Thanks in advance.

02-06-2016, 03:56 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Yves Bourque in his K-S2 user guide says the Hi ISO relies on shutter speed and internal temperature in its decision making for shots of longer than one minute. Perhaps you would use it on U1 on Auto for night landscapes or astrophotography.

High ISO would be for your U2 but he doesn't do more than suggest trial and error for its level.
02-06-2016, 04:20 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by whyhaveone Quote
low shutter speed NR
I think this one is Dark frame NR. This means after a long exposure, the camera will take another long exposure with the shutter closed, and reduce that noise from the photo. It is generally something that people like, but it can be bad in a situation where you don't have the time between shots. For astrophotography it is generally considered important to have this feature on.

Hi ISO NR
I think this is the general NR. I didn't know it does all the stuff mentioned in the previous post. Anyway, if you shoot raw, you probably don't need to set this one to be any high. You will use the developing software's own NR. I don't think this NR even applies to raw files?
02-06-2016, 04:25 AM   #4