Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2016, 08:14 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The impossible to ask in a politically correct way ethnic shooting question.

I'm little farm town in Minnesota so I have a lot of experience shooting folks like this.

And one time shooting folks like this.

I hate the shinny spots on her face!

I have a shoot coming up with these 2 gals and really don't want to mess it up or spend a bunch of time with trial and error.

So any advice on shooting darker skin?

03-24-2016, 08:16 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A polarizer should help.
03-24-2016, 08:25 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
I am planning for most of the shots to be outside and I have Tiffen Circular Polarizer for my portrait lens. http://www.amazon.com/Tiffen-72CP-72mm-Circular-Polarizer/dp/B00004ZCGX?ie=U...ilpage_o01_s00

Is that what you are talking about?

Oh I should mention I am shooting a K-3 with a Tamron 70-200. I've found a little bump from a metz 58 AF2 with a Gary Fong defuser even outside is nice to have a little catch light in the eye.
03-24-2016, 08:27 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by charchri4 Quote
Is that what you are talking about?
Yes.

03-24-2016, 08:31 AM - 3 Likes   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A lot of experience photographing white people?

Or specifically this type of perfection?

In all seriousness, your issue isn't the color of her skin but rather how oily it is. I don't mean that disparagingly - she appears to have very nice, taut skin. The issue though is that the natural oils created by our bodies (especially on our faces) creates a sheen that absolutely will be reflective like it is above, and it's perfectly expected. Have her apply a natural/nude coating of make-up (i.e. foundation) to suppress the shine.