Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2008, 07:29 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Any Good (Non-Bias) Dig Cam Magazines Out There?

Hey All,
After only two issues of my subscription to "Shutterbug", I have had it with their Nikon/Canon/Leica bias and allowing "Broadway Photo" to advertise on there knowing very well they are known for their scamming techniques. I'm not a professional and I really don't need tips on setting up a studio and other high tech tips, just looking for a magazine for someone who just like to shoot pictures and tips on making them even better.

Thanks
Barry

07-09-2008, 08:22 AM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Try a Canadian magazine called "Photo Life" I also like "Outdoor Photography Canada". Both have fewer ads and are more about photography than gear.

Photo Life :: HOME - Current Issue

Outdoor Photography Canada
07-09-2008, 10:44 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The local Barnes & Nobel carry several British rags that cause me to make several stops a week into the store to make sure I don't miss the latest copy. I should have gotten a subscription before the dollar went south. Today, it is less expensive to get it in the bookstore. Costco started carrying one of the magazines, and I get that one there.

The one I like best is "Digital Photo". Their web site is: Digital Photography, Digital Cameras & Photographers | Photo Answers
It is a cross between photographic techniques, software techniques, post processing, and equipment reviews. The enclosed CD-ROM contains (usually) about 10 computer videos (post processing techniques/tutorials), sample images from the equipment reviews, sample tutorial images, some PDF files of past articles, and user submitted images. This one is my favorite and I don't miss a copy. Light reading, but good, basic stuff in it.