Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2016, 04:53 AM   #1

Macro new need help

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am a Novice and would like to try and have a go at Macro. I have a Pentax K50 and wonder what information you can give with regards the Lens I use which are not expensive. Perhaps there are second hand ones that you could point me in the direction.

I wouldn't give anymore details as I am not even sure if I am in the right place on this site, so will await responses. Thanks in advance.

04-09-2016, 06:02 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A manual focus macro legacy lens like a 50mm macro or 100mm macro will be reasonably cheap and offer good image quality.

Last edited by photolady95; 04-09-2016 at 07:29 AM.
04-09-2016, 06:17 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You could get a macro filter for the lens(es) you already have. That would probably be the cheapest option, although there are many poor quality ones out there. The second option would be a manual lens on extension tubes (m42 50mm lenses go for 10-30€, tubes for around 5 and an adapter for an additional 5). Or you could go for a manual (or even AF) macro lens like @UncleVanya posted, but we'd need to know what you're looking to spend to recommend anything.
04-09-2016, 06:52 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I have all of the above, extension tubes, dedicated macro lenses, high quality macro add-on lenses, bellows, reversing rings, etc. Of these the dedicated macro lenses are the most versatile, easiest to use, and probably offer the best quality, but the other solutions are rational and can be fun.