Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-11-2008, 07:04 AM   #1
Veteran Member

For those that think the Pentax AF system is not geared for action, sports

Pentax Users Gallery July 2008 - Sports and Action

This months Pentax Users Gallery theme is Action and Sports.

Some good ones this month, and maybe this will help in some of the newbie and fence sitters mind making up. I'v always said, it may be slower than other makes, but in the right hands, will do wonders.

If not, its a darn good gallery this month

Dave

07-11-2008, 07:19 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
AF seems to work ok in #'s 5, 8, and 20, and it looks like FPS was fast enough for #24
07-11-2008, 08:24 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The definition of "not geared" doesn't mean "impossible"...even though I'm a relative noob w/ SLRs, I still have some tennis pics I'm happy with in the first year I went to the US Open last year using a relatively "non-sports" Tamron 70-300 lens :-)

I think it just less probable of getting shots that they want. This is part AF predictiveness (e.g., the D300/700's AF system), user technique (how well you predict action and "the shot" along with how well you know how to use your gear), lenses (most sports shooters like 2.8 or 4 longgggg 400-600mm lenses which we don't have enough of in the Pentax ecosystem), and perception (others use Canon so I should, but they didn't know Pentax does the double-focus check thing, but it shoots faster, so they'll just hold it down and get a big burst to pick from).
07-11-2008, 09:18 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by kenyee Quote
The definition of "not geared" doesn't mean "impossible"...even though I'm a relative noob w/ SLRs, I still have some tennis pics I'm happy with in the first year I went to the US Open last year using a relatively "non-sports" Tamron 70-300 lens :-)