Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-14-2008, 06:17 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How clean is clean?

Hi,

After recently taking some landscapes at f22 i realised how dirty my sensor was. I got my self a sensor sweep, blower and eclipse/plastic wand.

I am new to sensor cleaning but i am getting some strange results.

1. Blow the dust off - it got cleaner.
2. Use the sensor brush - it got a little cleaner
3. Use the eclipse and wand - it got MORE dust on it.
4. blow it off, use the brush - it got cleaner again.

I did all of this numerous times and found the the eclipse/wand usually deposits more dust on the sensor?!?!?! what am i doing wrong?

Anyway, i got it cleaner than it was when i started but a i am wondering what procedure people use.

I mount the camera on a tripod, lock the mirror up tilt the camera to a good working angle and then remove the lens. I proceed to clean and then mount the lens back on and take a test shot..... then i repeat and repeat and repeat.

How clean can you get your sensor?
Mine still has 5 or 6 specs and maybe another 12 specs so small that they are not worth the effort.

If the sensor got cleaner and cleaner and cleaner i could understand adn be happy that i am making progress but everytime i use the eclipse/wand it gets worse.

mike

07-14-2008, 06:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Sounds scary.

I've never cleaned my sensor, but I get the impression that "repeat repeat repeat" was generally not a good idea. Probably cleaning as little as possible is best. Even touching the sensor with anything sounds disturbing.
07-14-2008, 07:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I agree that the repeat repeat repeat is probably not a good idea. This is why i stopped and am now asking questions.