Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-17-2008, 01:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Does anyone think this is a good idea?

NEWS! - Sandisk ships write-once SD cards

WORM SD cards, courtesy of SanDisk's bright idea factory.
(write once, read many)

07-17-2008, 02:15 AM   #2
Damn Brit

I'm not that technical but it does seem like this could be an idea that would catch on because people love having to spend money on new equipment.
I think you would need:
A device that would write to these archive cards.
Then you would need:
Something to store them in. This could feed a whole new industry, Gucci, Prada, all the electronic companies, car shapes, camera shapes, limited editions.
Then you would probably need a way of remembering where you put these little boxes that have all your precious megapixels.
Like I said, I'm not that technical and this is just how I'm reading it.
Gary
07-17-2008, 02:21 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Seems pretty useless to me.
07-17-2008, 02:32 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Damn Brit Quote
I'm not that technical but it does seem like this could be an idea that would catch on because people love having to spend money on new equipment.
I think you would need:
A device that would write to these archive cards.
Then you would need:
Something to store them in. This could feed a whole new industry, Gucci, Prada, all the electronic companies, car shapes, camera shapes, limited editions.
Then you would probably need a way of remembering where you put these little boxes that have all your precious megapixels.
Like I said, I'm not that technical and this is just how I'm reading it.
Gary
Who says you can't do the same with rewritable SD cards?

For these WORM SD cards to work, they'll have to be incredibly cheap.

QuoteOriginally posted by Jodokast96 Quote
Seems pretty useless to me.