Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-12-2016, 05:45 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Do you listen to music while out shooting?

Recently I tried something I've never done before and put in some earbuds while out for some casual shooting. I usually avoided it, thinking I needed my full attention on the job of making images.

The difference was stunning...without music I often spent a lot of time time overthinking and overanalysing potential shots. With music it seems to free up the creativity, allowing me to look differently and (not wanting to sound too airy fairy here) allow the shots to come to me, rather than having to try to find them. Of course, different music had different effects...creating different moods - some genres rather too distracting, but others really adding something positive.

I am putting together a long playlist of everything from trippy trancey electronica to rock to classical, and will take it out to my favourite street shooting location to see what happens.

07-12-2016, 06:04 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by victormeldrew Quote
will take it out to my favourite street shooting location to see what happens.
For wildlife that I shoot that wouldn't work. You need to hear the birds, squirrels etc to even find them. If you have music in your ears, you won't hear them.
07-12-2016, 06:23 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I haven't done this. In some situations I can see the benefit, but many risks to sound isolation depending on where I am.
07-12-2016, 07:34 AM   #4
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by photolady95 Quote
For wildlife that I shoot that wouldn't work. You need to hear the birds, squirrels etc to even find them. If you have music in your ears, you won't hear them.