Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2016, 05:48 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
The Moon is incredible right now!

Novice here, Who's out there taking moon shots? Is it worth a try? Do I need a 300mm or better to get a decent shot? Any advice would be helpful. Thanks!

08-18-2016, 06:01 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yep, at least 300mm or more and even then you'll have to crop. The moon is brighter than we think so start with 1/125 @ f/8 and ISO 100 on a tripod and adjust as needed. If hand holding us a shutter speed of at least 1/focal length as in 1/500 with a 500mm lens. Boost the ISO to make up the difference. Good luck shooting the moon.
08-18-2016, 06:09 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by wtlwdwgn Quote
Yep, at least 300mm or more and even then you'll have to crop. The moon is brighter than we think so start with 1/125 @ f/8 and ISO 100 on a tripod and adjust as needed. If hand holding us a shutter speed of at least 1/focal length as in 1/500 with a 500mm lens. Boost the ISO to make up the difference. Good luck shooting the moon.
Thanks but I'll have to plan for in the future , biggest I have is the SMC A 200mm F4.
08-18-2016, 06:28 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Give it a shot anyway. You might be surprised.

08-18-2016, 06:36 PM - 2 Likes   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If you've heard of sunny sixteen you will get the gist of Lunar Eleven.

Photos of the moon are a dime a dozen, try putting some interesting foreground in the frame too

Good luck!
08-18-2016, 07:15 PM - 7 Likes   #6
Tas
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by donlass Quote
Who's out there taking moon shots? Is it worth a try? Do I need a 300mm or better to get a decent shot?
I was out trying last night but got 'clouded out'. A bit annoying but I'll see about tonight.