Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2016, 06:22 PM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Focus help with K-3 birds in flight

I am a frustrated bird photographer and need some help. could someone give me some ideas on what focusing settings I need to use when I am trying to capture birds in flight? If anyone can tell me what to use or where to go to help me I certainly would appreciate it

10-20-2016, 07:14 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Could you tell us which lens you're using for this. Most birds in flight shots are gotten because people pan with the bird flying and use manual focus. At least that's how I've gotten the ones I have captured. But these were large birds. Small song birds are harder to capture because they move so fast.

Of course you need a faster shutter speed to capture birds in flight, too.

Other members will chime in with their expertise asap.
10-20-2016, 07:31 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I go with Tav, AF.C, 1/1250 sec or faster, nine-point autofocus or larger.
10-20-2016, 09:53 PM - 2 Likes   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Paul the Sunman Quote
I go with Tav, AF.C, 1/1250 sec or faster, nine-point autofocus or larger.
I add SR off, enter this settings and save as USER 1 , for quick access. Dont use very long long lens, 300 mm without tc is enough. Feel confortable handholding your lens. My favourite is my F*300. Look on internet for bIF , its is full of tips, the most comon are look for Big birds , pelícanos , blue herons.. , prefocus where you believe the bird is going and try to see through the cámara far as you can them follow or pan ende When you are sure the bird is in the center press af button to start tracking.
Weather is very important , the better the light the easiest bIF. Landing and takking offs are good oportunitties
Practice , practice and practice .
Sorry bad engish

10-20-2016, 11:11 PM   #5
Pentaxian