Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
10-29-2016, 08:31 PM   #1

K-5 ii and Northern Lights

Hello,

I have a K 5 ii and the Northern Lights are begging me to snap some photos...I want to set my camera up manually to do this but I'm warning you my knowledge is limited... I am a painful newbie.

I am signed up for some beginner classes in December but that doesn't help me now!

Any suggestions would be muchly appreciated!!

Issa

10-29-2016, 09:09 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So no o-gps1 attached, we presume? If star streaks don't bother you keep iso low, otherwise shoot up to iso 3200 perhaps, on a tripod or really solid prop, with a really wide lens. I would try a few 30-second shots and chimp for more feedback. I did some 2 minute shots in the past but it was a really poor show so it needed help. Oh don't forget 2s self timer to keep shaking down, and SR can be turned off for long exposures.
10-29-2016, 10:25 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the Forums!!! So, here in Arizona we are too far south to be able to enjoy the Northern Lights - but it was 92F today. That said, we do shoot a lot of the Milky Way here so, here would be my suggestions.... I shoot with a K5IIs
  • RAW format
  • (M)anual or (B)ulb mode - maybe even Av if you are shooting under 30 seconds
  • ISO - 1600 to 3200 - if it appears too dark, I would even try higher. Dial in what appeals to you in terms of best results.
  • Shutter Speed - 13 seconds to 30 seconds, but I would also try the (B)ulb setting and leave it open for up to a couple of minutes to see what it captures. I say about 13 seconds, because that's about as long as you can shoot and keep the stars from trailing with an 18mm lens.
  • Aperture - This is dependent on your lens, but wide open.
  • 2 second delay to let the vibrations of tripping the shutter dampen out.