Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
12-13-2016, 12:18 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Thoughts on ISO

I'm still new to photography; I think I learn something new every time I shoot.

I've been shooting manual mode from the beginning. I disabled SR, ISO NR, Shutter Speed NR, etc.
I bought a few photography books when I started out, and still refer to them from time to time.

One thing I was told, from reading those books and hearing from other photographers, keeping ISO as low as possible is key to reducing noise - That "noise is directly related to ISO". Of course with a caveat - as long as you can keep ISO low enough and still get the shot. If you need a faster shutter speed or a smaller aperture, then ISO will have to compensate.

Well, I took that to heart and rarely ever took my ISO off 100. If I got to ISO 400 I often tried to deal with a slower shutter speed or opened one more F-stop to get the shot without increasing ISO anymore.
Turns out this is not the way to do it!

I took this shot the other day - nothing special, but I wanted to focus on why it is so noisy:
ISO 100 - f6.3 - 1/800 @ 300mm
on paper that sounds great, right?

Here is my theory:
ISO does not have a direct relationship with noise.

If there is a lack of light, there will be noise regardless of ISO setting.
If there is an abundance of light, there will be little noise; though the image may be overexposed due to the ISO setting.

Forcing the camera to ISO 100 in this case just underexposed the image. This resulted in heavy PP to get the image to where it is now.
If I allowed the camera to properly expose (let's just say ISO 800), then I'd probably attribute the noise to shooting at ISO 800.

If this is true, fixing aperture and shutter speed to a constant, ISO has no effect on the level of noise in an image (assuming each photo gets properly exposed in PP).