Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-30-2017, 07:56 AM   #1

Intraoral and Portrait Shot, Recommended Set-up

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello All,

New to the forum and was reading some back threads re: use of Pentax DSLR for dental photography. I am an oral surgeon looking to add a nice camera set-up to my busy practice. I am ideally looking for a setup that would be able to take intraoral shots (pictures in the dark hole that is the mouth) and portrait shots.

I know that I will @ minimum need 1-2 macro lenses, a ring-flash unit and a camera. The threads on this subject are a bit dated and I was wondering if anyone has helped a dental professional get setup with a camera like this. Ideally the camera would be easy to use / relatively light weight in case I'm so busy that my assistants need to be taking the pictures.

Best,
OMFS - Surgeon

03-30-2017, 08:35 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteQuote:
You should talk to @pathdoc, who is a pathologist who uses a similar setup.
Speak of the Devil and he appears.

Welcome, OP.

The threads may be dated, but the basic principles of photography never change.

At one stage Pentax had a 100mm macro lens and accessories specifically set up for dentistry work: SMC Pentax-A Dental Macro 1:4 100mm (for legacy fanatics): Micro Four Thirds Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review or SMC Pentax-A Dental Macro 100/4.0 – B I T Z