Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2017, 09:23 PM   #1

Macro Lens

I'm new to photography and just bought a k-3 with a 18-135mm lens. I was looking at lenses and wondered if anyone would have recommendations for a good startup macro lens that works with the k-3. Also, because I'm new... do I need a macro tube and a lens? Or just one or the other?

05-07-2017, 09:43 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
If you're a cashed up beginner, a D FA 100 f2.8 Macro would be great.

If you're a technical photographer, a macro extension tube works well with cheap vintage primes like the M50 f1.7.
05-07-2017, 10:17 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Depends on your budget and how much magnification you need. 'Macro' is a somewhat loosely defined term. Generally accepted to be 1:1, where the object is represented life size in the frame. Is that what you want? Or are you looking for flower closeups? Which can be done quite well with your 18-135. Try shooting what you have in mind with the 18-135 and see if it works for you. If not then look into a macro lens.

On a budget try looking for the Pentax FA 100mm f/3.5 it is slower and not built as sturdily as some others but produces good results at a good price. Comes up on ebay occasionally.
On a real budget get a manual 50mm and some macro tubes, but everything will be manual. Not bad or even an issue with macro, but different than using your 18-135
With more cash the best one to get is the DFA 100mm f/2.8 WR which is all metal and a dream to use.
But any of the Pentax 100mm macros will work just fine. I have the F 100mm macro and the DFA 100mm macro WR. As well as the truly amazing F 50mm macro. And the Pentax-A 50mm macro which is also a great lens.