Pro Photographers with Amateur Gear vs. an Amateur with Pro Gear

06-11-2017, 02:58 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Original Poster
06-11-2017, 03:38 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: Pro Photographers with Amateur Gear vs. an Amateur with Pro Gear

Some years ago I came across a web site that had a featured B&W photos of the Oregon coast taken with a Holga. Beautiful, haunting images, all of them, and I refer to it anytime someone asks me about gear. There is no "best" anything, there is simply the right equipment for the images you want to make.
06-11-2017, 04:45 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I'm afraid you're very much mistaken, Alamo. If this Nikon camera gives me blurry photos, I'm buying a Canon! Or vica versa. ;P

06-11-2017, 05:44 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Interesting talk, thank you for sharing.
I am an Amateur and still, quite often get questions from people asking what camera I am using for photos on Instagram.
My answer has always been a Camera's brand doesn't matter. Use whatever body you have but technique uses, location scout and invest in a good lens can help at less according to what I am doing, I guess, it is somewhat inline with the points made in the video.
I have never point people to a particular brand including Pentax unless the person already have or interesting in Pentax.

Last edited by pakinjapan; 06-11-2017 at 05:51 PM.
06-11-2017, 05:48 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sigourney WeaverPro with pro gear?
06-11-2017, 09:04 PM   #7
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by alamo5000 Quote
Pro Photographers with Amateur Gear vs. an Amateur with Pro Gear
I would say, yeah, that's not a surprise, pro gear does not make photog.
However, there is something different: Pentax K1.

06-11-2017, 09:30 PM   #8
Veteran Member