Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-22-2017, 12:14 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
1st draft of a simple cheat sheet for one type of astro photo.

I'm new to astrophotography and need some help with creating a procedure list. Here's what I got so far.

K3II Astro Photography Setup Cheat Sheet.

Type of Astrophoto is:

A night Sky Photograph of Milky Way with some foreground features such Rocky crags.

No trails just static image with lots of crisp stars and galactic arm structure showing.

I want as little noise as is reasonably possible.

Assumes 14mm Rokiton/Samyang 2.8 lens (Aperture Ring must be set to A or it throws an error.)

1: Turn on Camera. (Since no astrophoto settings can be saved) All settings and calibration and lens focal length input, must be repeated every time the Camera powers up.

2: On Camera prompt to enter Focal Length. (The proper focal lenth of 14MM is not an available menu choice, so choose 15MM)

3: Hit Gps button and wait for satalite to have green bars.

4: Turn on Astro tracer found in Menu 2 via GPS

5: Do a precise calibration

6: Mount Camera to tripod.

5: Set ISO to around 1600

6: Make sure long exposure noise reduction is on.

7: Set file format to raw

8: Manual focus setting is grayed out in the menu so must be selected by physical camera lever.

9: Make sure long exposure noise reduction is on.

10: Twist lens focus ring as far as it will go towards infinity symbol.

11: Set exposure auto timer to 20 seconds.

12: Set self timer to 12 sec to avoid camera shake by shutter button depresion (I don't have a remote).

From what I've read it seems like this list must be close to a usable procedure.

Am I wrong about inability to save settings relevent to this type of astrophotography. ?

Did I leave out something?

Anybody care to help make this list better?

Thanks
For any help.
Frank

06-22-2017, 12:50 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian